ON MY OWN

Hi guys! A new video has been launched! This time it’s ‘On My Own’, another from Les Miserables.  Although it is performed usually by a female singer, I thought it would be good to cover it as it is a bit different and I think, as a male singer, I interpreted the lyrics slightly differently.

On My Own is one of the most recognised songs from Les Mis with other classics such as ‘Bring Him Home’ and ‘Stars’ which I did last time.

During this song, the emotions are high; there’s confusion, a sense of desperation also from the lyrics. Personally, I feel we all fear losing someone or someone’s feelings towards us changing. This is how I have interpreted the lyrics and mood of the song.

Les Mis is one of my favourite musicals especially with the intensity throughout. It is based on the French Revolution and the stories throughout the show are gripping. On My Own is sung by one of the lead characters, Eponine. She is in love with Maurius but he doesn’t feel the same for her. I think this is one of the reasons why I love this song so much, due to the fact that I feel we may have all had a similar experience to Eponine.

That’s all for now and hope you enjoy the video which you can watch here: https://youtu.be/Z7V6oouGq8I

Thanks for the support and enjoy the video!

Until the next song,

Ryan.

 

Leave a Reply

